Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 983634 - Problem with collaboration of two and more users on the one process definition
Summary: Problem with collaboration of two and more users on the one process definition
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Alias: None
Product: JBoss BPMS Platform 6
Classification: Retired
Component: jBPM Designer
Version: 6.0.0
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
high
urgent
Target Milestone: ER1
: 6.0.1
Assignee: Tihomir Surdilovic
QA Contact: Sona Mala
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On: 983661 1049284 1049290
Blocks: 999950
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2013-07-11 15:15 UTC by Sona Mala
Modified: 2014-08-06 20:02 UTC (History)
6 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
In the Designer, the last changed user field for a process always defaults to 'admin' irrespective of who made the last change on that process. This causes a conflict dialog to be shown when saving the process irrespective of whether one person has done the modification or two. Cause: Consequence: Fix: Result:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2014-08-06 20:02:15 UTC
Type: Bug


Attachments (Terms of Use)


Links
System ID Priority Status Summary Last Updated
Red Hat Bugzilla 1075077 None None None Never

Internal Links: 1075077

Description Sona Mala 2013-07-11 15:15:19 UTC
Description of problem:
There is no update mechanism in Designer if collaborate two users on one process definition in the same time. User always rewrite the process by the his local definition. So win the last save.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
6.0.0 DR6

How reproducible:


Steps to Reproduce:
1. both user open process definition
2. user1: create process Start("MyStart") -> User Task("My User") -> End
3. user2: create process Start -> Task -> End
4. user1: save a process
5. user2: save a process
6. user1: delete End and add Task ("AAA") -> End
7. user2: change property "Name" of Task to "BBB"
8. user2: save a process
9. user1: save a process and close Designer
10: user1: open designer

Actual results:
The user1 can see a different process:
Start->Task("BBB")->End

Expected results:
Some notification about conflict:
  - merging mechanism
  - update designer if a process is saved
  - etc.


Additional info:
GIT repository log says that commit "Updated asset BPMN2-ConditionalStart.bpmn2" is always done by same user (admin <null>).

Comment 1 Alexandre Porcelli 2013-09-16 23:10:09 UTC
This issue was partially solved by the following ticket: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=999950

In order to fix this at desginer it's necessary to follow email instructions sent to bsig group.

Comment 2 Prakash Aradhya 2013-09-17 01:55:15 UTC
OK.. so, can we make sure all major tools follow the steps provided  ?

Internal Whiteboard: Beta Blocker → Blocker
Not critical for Beta, but need to address for GA

Comment 6 Kris Verlaenen 2013-11-27 02:55:33 UTC
Fixed by https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=999950

Comment 7 Sona Mala 2014-01-14 10:03:23 UTC
blocked by another issue.

Comment 8 Kris Verlaenen 2014-01-21 16:08:16 UTC
Seems the depending issue is already verified, setting back ON_QA

Comment 9 Sona Mala 2014-01-23 14:40:40 UTC
I verified that the dialog which resolves conflicts is shown up and options "Force Save" and "Re-open" work fine.

But there is one problem that an user does not know who changes that process. There is still user name "admin" no matter which user has saved the process. 

Same conflict dialog is shown even if the process is modified by one person.

So there is no difference between single user modification and modification by two and more person.

Comment 11 Tihomir Surdilovic 2014-01-24 17:51:58 UTC
the associated issue with admin user save by designer has already been fixed (https://github.com/droolsjbpm/jbpm-designer/commit/157325157707f2fc724ea8f29343a6184c78df00) -- BZ 1049290

Comment 12 Lukáš Petrovický 2014-02-07 16:19:19 UTC
This no longer has a target release of 6.0.0.

Comment 13 Sona Mala 2014-03-11 12:47:28 UTC
I verify that a conflict dialog contains right user for 6.0.1 ER2 BPMS. (Not just admin user).

Now conflict dialog works as was expected:
   - show correct user
   - options 'Force Save' and 'Re-open' works properly


Unfortunately, one problem still persist but it will be described by another bugzilla issue.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.