Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 951934 - vdsm [UPGRADE]: trying to attach a lun that was upgraded and removed to a different DC with metadata v1 will show the lun as used
Summary: vdsm [UPGRADE]: trying to attach a lun that was upgraded and removed to a dif...
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED INSUFFICIENT_DATA
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Manager
Classification: Red Hat
Component: vdsm
Version: 3.2.0
Hardware: x86_64
OS: Linux
unspecified
medium
Target Milestone: ---
: 3.4.0
Assignee: Ayal Baron
QA Contact: Aharon Canan
URL:
Whiteboard: storage
Depends On:
Blocks: rhev3.4beta 1142926
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2013-04-14 14:47 UTC by Dafna Ron
Modified: 2016-02-10 17:16 UTC (History)
11 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2013-09-09 05:00:13 UTC
oVirt Team: Storage
Target Upstream Version:


Attachments (Terms of Use)
logs (deleted)
2013-04-14 14:47 UTC, Dafna Ron
no flags Details

Description Dafna Ron 2013-04-14 14:47:44 UTC
Created attachment 735599 [details]
logs

Description of problem:

I have two DC's both rhevm 3.0 (metadata v1). 
I upgraded one DC and after I upgraded I moved/removed the disks on one of the domains -> detached and removed it in an orderly way. 
I tried adding this lun to the second 3.0 DC (metadata v1 as well) and the lun is shown as used. 
we seem to be removing the lun but leaving some leftovers so that if we try to attach it again after removing it is shown as used. 

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):

sf13.1
upgrade from vdsm-4.10.2-1.9.el6ev.x86_64 to vdsm-4.10.2-15.0.el6ev.x86_64

How reproducible:

100%

Steps to Reproduce:
1. create two iscsi DC's in 3.0 with format v1 with 2 storage domains on each DC
2. create vm's (images and volumes) on all domains
3. uprgade one of the DC's
4. move/remove the images/volumes from one of the upgraded domains
5. detach and remove the domain
6. try to add the domain as a new domain in the second DC (who is still v1). 

  
Actual results:

domain is shown as used

Expected results:

domain should not be shown as used. 

Additional info: logs

Comment 2 Ayal Baron 2013-07-10 07:20:42 UTC
Dafna, domains are never 'used', LUNs are used.
LUNs are never upgraded, domains are upgraded.

IIUC, the flow is:
create a domain on LUN in setup 1, remove the domain, try to use the LUN on setup 2,  Is this correct?

Is it through the same host that you moved between setups or did you use separate hosts?

Did all hosts see the LUN from the beginning (lun mapping)?

Did you check why it failed? 

Forcing creation, were you able to create the domain?

Comment 4 Elad 2014-02-02 12:33:35 UTC
Doesn't look relevant. Will be re-opened in case we will encounter it again


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.