Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 82545 - gdm upgrade resets settings
Summary: gdm upgrade resets settings
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Public Beta
Classification: Retired
Component: gdm
Version: phoebe
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
medium
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Havoc Pennington
QA Contact: Mike McLean
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2003-01-23 09:50 UTC by Warren Togami
Modified: 2007-04-18 16:50 UTC (History)
0 users

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2003-01-23 15:06:46 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Warren Togami 2003-01-23 09:50:37 UTC
From Bugzilla Helper:
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.2.1) Gecko/20030115

Description of problem:
Upgrading the "gdm" package seems to reset the settings to default.  This can
potentially cause confusion when upgrading "gdm" for LTSP servers, because XDMCP
becomes disabled.

I noticed this behavior when upgrading between the following packages, so I
suspect this is generally the case with gdm packaging.
gdm-2.4.0.7-14.i386.rpm to gdm-2.4.1.0-1.i386.rpm
gdm-2.4.1.0-1.i386.rpm to gdm-2.4.1.1-1.i386.rpm

How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Set gdm settings, like XDMCP.
2. Upgrade gdm.
    
Actual Results:  
Settings are reset to default.

Expected Results:  
Settings should be kept.

Comment 1 Havoc Pennington 2003-01-23 15:06:46 UTC
I'm almost sure we went through this for 8.0 betas - changing it to noreplace,
observing that stuff broke, and changing it back. The problem is that if you
don't upgrade the config you often don't get bugfixes.

There's just an inherit tradeoff: replace and get people bugfixes but make 
them manually restore their local mods, or don't replace and don't get out 
the bugfixes. There is no correct answer, both ways have a major downside...
I think it's best to just pick one and stick to it.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.