Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 6422 - Previous linux directories formatted in "custom" installation
Summary: Previous linux directories formatted in "custom" installation
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED RAWHIDE
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Linux
Classification: Retired
Component: installer
Version: 6.1
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
medium
high
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Jay Turner
QA Contact:
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 1999-10-27 13:23 UTC by celli
Modified: 2015-01-07 23:39 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2000-02-08 19:13:53 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description celli 1999-10-27 13:23:13 UTC
I have (had) a 8GB eide HD with several Linux partition:
- hdb1 working Linux distribution
- hdb2 test-1 Linux distribution
- hdb3 test-2 Linux distribution ~800MB
- hdb4 extended
- hdb5  /home
.....

I tried to install RH-6.1 on hdb3.
I choose "custom" to preserve other linux partitions
I told to format ONLY hdb3
I set mount points for other linux partitions (es. hdb2
on /mnt/caldera, hdb5 on /mnt/home )and win partitions
on hda
I choose a lot of packages.

The installer told me the space was not enough.

I came back and removed some package (GNOME,...).

The installation started saying "formatting /mnt/caldera"
(Not "formatting /dev/hdb2"). No messages about
other partitions.

When installation ended i found:

- ALL linux partitions formatted,
- not chosen packages (Gnome,...) installed
- other chosen packages (g77,...) not installed
- mount points to win partitions non activated.

It seems as when I went back to deselect some
package the installation mode was switched to
"workstation" with very "unpleasant" consequences.

I suppose it is a very severe bug in installation
program. Obviously i can't repeat the procedure
to be sure of what i said. Actually I have got a
 lot of problems to restore my lost data.

Any way IMHO i thing it'd be very important to modify
installation procedure adding an "active" warning
before formatting a partition. In such a way i can
prevent deletion of data. This is very important in
a "full automatic" procedure where user doesn't control
what actually happens.


Best regards, Andrea Celli

Comment 1 Jay Turner 1999-11-30 19:04:59 UTC
This issue has been forwarded to a developer for further action.

Comment 2 Jay Turner 2000-02-08 19:13:59 UTC
This issue has been fixed in the latest RawHide.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.