Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 590505 - preupgrade should default to "Upgrade an Existing Installation"
Summary: preupgrade should default to "Upgrade an Existing Installation"
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED RAWHIDE
Alias: None
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: anaconda
Version: 13
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
low
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Anaconda Maintenance Team
QA Contact: Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2010-05-10 00:23 UTC by Alex Lancaster
Modified: 2010-08-13 15:21 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2010-08-13 15:21:20 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)
anaconda.log file (deleted)
2010-05-10 16:31 UTC, Alex Lancaster
no flags Details

Description Alex Lancaster 2010-05-10 00:23:49 UTC
preupgrade defaults to highlighting "Fresh Installation" rather than "Upgrade an Existing Installation".  I would have thought it should default to highlighting the "Upgrade" option since that's the purpose of preupgrade, it might cause a user to inadvertantly override an existing system if they just accepted the defaults.

Comment 1 Chris Lumens 2010-05-10 14:34:16 UTC
Please attach /tmp/anaconda.log to this bug report.  If you're seeing that screen at all, it seems unlikely that your upgrade process is working as it should at all.

Comment 2 Alex Lancaster 2010-05-10 16:31:04 UTC
Created attachment 412898 [details]
anaconda.log file

Comment 3 Chris Lumens 2010-05-14 15:01:45 UTC
On the filter screen, did you select the drives in your system to be a part of the upgrade process?  Perhaps anaconda could not find your previous installation because it was not selected.

Comment 4 Alex Lancaster 2010-05-30 03:44:57 UTC
(In reply to comment #3)
> On the filter screen, did you select the drives in your system to be a part of
> the upgrade process?  Perhaps anaconda could not find your previous
> installation because it was not selected.    

You mean when running preupgrade before the download, or after the reboot inside anaconda?  I believe I did select a drive during the preupgrade, can't quite recall now.

Comment 5 Chris Lumens 2010-07-26 20:08:38 UTC
> You mean when running preupgrade before the download, or after the reboot
> inside anaconda?  I believe I did select a drive during the preupgrade, can't
> quite recall now.    

Inside anaconda.

Comment 6 Alex Lancaster 2010-07-27 03:58:21 UTC
(In reply to comment #5)
> > You mean when running preupgrade before the download, or after the reboot
> > inside anaconda?  I believe I did select a drive during the preupgrade, can't
> > quite recall now.    
> 
> Inside anaconda.    

It was a while back.  I think that was the first thing that preupgrade/anaconda presented after reboot.  The drive selection was during preupgrade before reboot IIRC.

Comment 7 Alex Lancaster 2010-07-31 21:22:16 UTC
I just did a fresh upgrade from another F-11 machine to F-13 and I first selected the drive in anaconda after reboot (not before rebooting as I erroneously said comment #6 above), then I was presented with the screen that had something like (this is from memory):

"Another installation has been detected, what would you like to do:

[x] Fresh installation

[ ] Upgrade existing

 <drop down box with F-11 installation in the list>"


If this has been done from preupgrade, this should default to the second choice, not the first.  Selecting the "upgrade existing" and then selecting the installation works, however I think the default selection of fresh installation is a bug.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.