Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 228639 - Dangerous default: Delete all linux partitions
Summary: Dangerous default: Delete all linux partitions
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Alias: None
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: anaconda
Version: 6
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
medium
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: David Cantrell
QA Contact:
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2007-02-14 04:16 UTC by Greg Martyn
Modified: 2007-11-30 22:11 UTC (History)
0 users

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2007-02-14 15:41:22 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Greg Martyn 2007-02-14 04:16:49 UTC
Description of problem:
Anaconda defaults to removing all existing linux partitions

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
Fedora Core 6

How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Boot from install DVD
2. When setting up partitions, "Remove linux partitions on selected drives and
create default layout" is selected, along with all my drives
  
Actual results:
I don't want to know

Expected results:
The default shouldn't be to delete all my data!
Offer to search for partitions that look like they are the root of a linux
filesystem (they contain /etc, /usr/bin, /home, /var, etc) and only format them.

Additional info:

Comment 1 David Cantrell 2007-02-14 15:41:22 UTC
So we *do* search for existing Linux installations.  If we find an existing
Fedora installation, we offer you the option to upgrade whatever we found, or
install fresh.  If you select install fresh, you get to the screen you've mentioned.

Comment 2 Greg Martyn 2007-02-14 19:45:46 UTC
But this is still a terrible default! I have multiple drives. I want to 
install fresh, but I don't want to lose all my other data.

Comment 3 David Cantrell 2007-02-15 15:45:54 UTC
Then select Custom partitioning and your existing partitions will appear and you
can give them specific mount points.  Formatting is disabled by default on all
partitions found when you select custom.

The other option you can select is Use only free space on selected drives.  No
existing partitions will be touched.

This is not a bug.  It just requires users to read the partitioning screen.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.