Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 160169 - Restoring backup file and propagating new config causes extra backup file to be created
Summary: Restoring backup file and propagating new config causes extra backup file to ...
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED DEFERRED
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Cluster Suite
Classification: Retired
Component: redhat-config-cluster
Version: 4
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
medium
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Jim Parsons
QA Contact: Cluster QE
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2005-06-12 15:25 UTC by Paul Kennedy
Modified: 2015-04-20 00:46 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2005-09-08 15:28:56 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Paul Kennedy 2005-06-12 15:25:21 UTC
Description of problem:

--------
Symptom
--------

Restoring a configuration file to an earlier version from a backup file
(/etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.1, /etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.2, or
/etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.3) causes an extra backup file to be created
because "Send to Cluster" includes saving file, and therefore backing up the file.

When you restore a file from a backup file, you need to do a "Save As" from the
backup file to /ect/cluster/cluster.conf. To propagate, you must click "Send to
Cluster", which automatically saves the configuration file. Therefore, when
restoring a file from a backup file you are forced to save the file twice,
thereby creating a backup file each time the file is saved. 

-----------
Workaround
-----------

None


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
system-config-cluster 1.0.12 

How reproducible:


Steps to Reproduce:
1.  Remove all backup files from /etc/cluster/.
2.  At the Cluster Configuration tab, make a change to the configuration.
3.  Propagate the change by clicking "Send to Cluster" (acknowledging the 
    resultant dialog boxes with "Yes" or "OK").
4.  Observe that one backup file, /etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.1, has been
    created.
5.  Open backup file /etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.1:
    File => Open => /etc/cluster.conf.bak.1 => OK
6.  Restore to earlier configuration by saving backup file to
    /etc/cluster.conf:
    File => Save As => /etc/cluster.conf => OK, acknowledging resultant
    dialog box
7.  Observe that two backup files exist now: /etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.1
    and /etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.2.
8.  Propagate the change by clicking "Send to Cluster" (acknowledging the 
    resultant dialog boxes with "Yes" or "OK").
9.  Observe that three backup files exist now: etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.1,
    /etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.2, and /etc/cluster/cluster.conf.bak.3.
  
Actual results:


Expected results:


Additional info:

Comment 1 Jim Parsons 2005-09-08 15:28:56 UTC
This requires some careful planning to address this issue, so deferring until
next update


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.