Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 155723 - When a user is deleted their activation keys no longer work.
Summary: When a user is deleted their activation keys no longer work.
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Network
Classification: Red Hat
Component: RHN/Backend
Version: rhn400
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
medium
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: John Wregglesworth
QA Contact: Beth Nackashi
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2005-04-22 15:18 UTC by John Wregglesworth
Modified: 2007-04-18 17:24 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

Fixed In Version: RHN 4.0.0
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2005-09-01 02:33:39 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description John Wregglesworth 2005-04-22 15:18:14 UTC
Description of problem: SSIA. Activation keys should not be tied to a specific user.

Comment 1 John Wregglesworth 2005-04-22 15:32:52 UTC
See BZ#155453 for customer report.

Comment 2 John Wregglesworth 2005-05-09 19:56:15 UTC
Test Plan:
o While signed in as the Org Admin, create a new user.

o Go to the new user's Details page and make them an Activation Key 
  Administrator.

o Sign out of the Org Admin account.

o Sign in to the new user's account.

o Go to Systems->Activation Keys and create a new activation key. It needs to be
compatible with a client machine that you will use in a later step. Make a note
of what you enter into the Key text box, you'll need this for a later step.

o Log out of the new user's account.

o Log in to the Org Admin account.

o Go to the new user's details page click the 'delete user' link in the upper
right corner of the page.

o Select a client machine that you want to test the activation key with and make
sure it's not already registered with the satellite. If it is already registered
with the system, go to the System Details page and click on the 'delete system'
link and follow the instructions to delete the system from the satellite.

o Register the client machine using the activation key you created while logged
in as the now-deleted new user.
    -example: rhnreg_ks --activationkey=foo

o Log into the Org Admin account, if necessary, and make sure that the client
system is now registered.
                                                                               
                                       
 

Comment 3 Beth Nackashi 2005-07-31 19:55:04 UTC
verified -- a key created by a user that has been subsequently disabled can
still be used to register a system


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.