Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 1364015 - [userinterface_public_689]Should give better option when user cancel and make new changes during environment/label management
Summary: [userinterface_public_689]Should give better option when user cancel and make...
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Alias: None
Product: OKD
Classification: Red Hat
Component: Management Console
Version: 3.x
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
medium
medium
Target Milestone: ---
: 3.x
Assignee: Jessica Forrester
QA Contact: Yadan Pei
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2016-08-04 09:35 UTC by Yadan Pei
Modified: 2016-09-19 13:52 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: If docs needed, set a value
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2016-09-19 13:52:48 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Yadan Pei 2016-08-04 09:35:08 UTC
Description of problem:
I have mainly two issues about new key-value-editor
= If user has typed his update on key or value, then if he would like to quit this update, he has two options: One is navigating away from this BC/DC(any changes will be lost). The other is deleting his changes character by character manually. This is a little tricky, how about a "cancel" button or something like this to discard all changes?

= For sequential update, it's hard to identify if you new changes are saved correctly or not. For first successful update it will give message "<BC/DC> was updated", this message are kept on Environment tab until user close it. If user didn't clear the message and gave a second update, then it didn't trigger new message, thus it's hard to know whether the second update is successful

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
v3.3.0.14

How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create a project and add app to this project
2. Go to Deployments->Environment or Builds->Environment tab

Actual results:
2. When user want to cancel editing or gave sequential update, it's not very clear to identify the changes

Expected results:
2. Should provide more convenient operation and give clear message when updating

Additional info:

Comment 1 bpeterse 2016-08-04 20:16:14 UTC
Agree, a "cancel" or "reset" button makes sense.

As for the alert, It would be at least nice for it to show a counter in the error message (2), (3), etc. once more than one update is made.  This would give you a clue that something did change.  That or we show alerts as a list and simply discard the oldest ones past a certain #.  There are a couple ways we could do this, just have to figure out what is right.

jwforres thoughts?

Comment 2 bpeterse 2016-08-04 20:17:41 UTC
The message after update issue should probably be a separate bug as this is a general problem apart from editing envs/labels

Comment 3 Samuel Padgett 2016-08-12 20:37:06 UTC
We might clear the previous success alert if the user changes any value after saving.

Comment 4 Samuel Padgett 2016-08-12 20:38:42 UTC
> The message after update issue should probably be a separate bug as this is a general problem apart from editing envs/labels

I'd argue it's a bit different here since this is an in-place editor. Our other editors take you to another page (except edit YAML, which opens a modal).

Comment 5 Jessica Forrester 2016-08-16 22:36:30 UTC
merging to origin in https://github.com/openshift/origin/pull/10470

Comment 6 Yadan Pei 2016-08-18 06:25:37 UTC
Changed product to ORIGIN then we could verify changes earlier and found potential issues as early as possible

Comment 7 Yadan Pei 2016-08-19 07:47:13 UTC
Now added "Clear changes" button works well and it indeed provide better experience.

On DC Environment tab & BC Environment tab, after making some changes to env name/value, "Clear changes" is enabled, clicking "Clear changes" will clear all changes and "Save" button is disabled because nothing changed.

Comment 8 Yadan Pei 2016-08-19 07:53:59 UTC
But for multiple update on BC & DC Environment tab, only one alert "<bc> was updated." is given, this is not very clear. 

Is this fix also included in PR https://github.com/openshift/origin/pull/10470? Or do you need me to open a separate bug as Ben said in https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1364015#c2

Comment 9 Jessica Forrester 2016-08-19 12:25:11 UTC
Yeah I'd prefer a separate bug for that, thats also lower severity to me.

Comment 10 Yadan Pei 2016-08-22 00:52:33 UTC
Ok, will move this bug to VERIFIED


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.