Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 1095380 - No need for a Dialogue window when exporting vm or template for the first time
Summary: No need for a Dialogue window when exporting vm or template for the first time
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Manager
Classification: Red Hat
Component: ovirt-engine
Version: 3.4.0
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
unspecified
unspecified
Target Milestone: ---
: 3.5.0
Assignee: Maor
QA Contact: Aharon Canan
URL:
Whiteboard: storage
Depends On:
Blocks: rhev3.5beta 1156165
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2014-05-07 14:58 UTC by Ori Gofen
Modified: 2016-05-26 01:48 UTC (History)
10 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2014-09-03 11:21:38 UTC
oVirt Team: Storage
Target Upstream Version:
scohen: needinfo+
amureini: Triaged+


Attachments (Terms of Use)
screen shot (deleted)
2014-05-07 14:58 UTC, Ori Gofen
no flags Details

Description Ori Gofen 2014-05-07 14:58:41 UTC
Created attachment 893323 [details]
screen shot

Description of problem:

When creating a new vm or a new template and exporting it to export domain,
a dialogue window pops and prompt the user to check Force Override/Collapse Snapshots boxes.
There is no need for a pop up window like that one,further more,
a reasonable user can be very confused and assume there is other meaning to that window due to the fact a newly created vm/template cannot Override its own version on the domain.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):

vdsm-cli-4.14.7-0.2.rc.el6ev.noarch
rhevm-3.4.0-0.16.rc.el6ev.noarch

How reproducible:
100%

Steps to Reproduce:
1.create vm or create vm+template
2.export the vm or export the template

Actual results:

A pop up window appears and prompt the user to check boxes which has no meaning

Expected results:
Force Override needs to be greyed out or not appear at all
Collapse Snapshots,same, if there isn't any snapshots

Additional info:

Comment 1 Allon Mureinik 2014-05-08 06:49:49 UTC
Makes sense to me.

Sean/Einav - please approve/reject this change to the UX.

Comment 2 Sean Cohen 2014-05-08 08:38:57 UTC
(In reply to Allon Mureinik from comment #1)
> Makes sense to me.
> 
> Sean/Einav - please approve/reject this change to the UX.

Approved from PM side
Sean

Comment 3 Maor 2014-09-03 08:00:04 UTC
I think that adding this functionality might have impact on the UX when exporting a VM/Template.

The reason for that is that all of the VMs/Templates in the export domain are contained in OVF files.
If the export domain will have 1000+ VMs for example it would just make the UX for opening this dialog much more heavy (Try to check the sub tab of VMs in the Export Domain if we have more then 10 VMs)

Comment 4 Allon Mureinik 2014-09-03 11:21:38 UTC
(In reply to Maor from comment #3)
> If the export domain will have 1000+ VMs for example it would just make the
> UX for opening this dialog much more heavy (Try to check the sub tab of VMs
> in the Export Domain if we have more then 10 VMs)

The performance hit will prove to be much worse UX-wise than this improvement suggests.
Closing.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.