Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 1070823 - PRD35 - [RFE] Wipe after Delete flag modification while VM is Up
Summary: PRD35 - [RFE] Wipe after Delete flag modification while VM is Up
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED ERRATA
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Manager
Classification: Red Hat
Component: ovirt-engine-webadmin-portal
Version: 3.3.0
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
unspecified
high
Target Milestone: ---
: 3.5.0
Assignee: Allon Mureinik
QA Contact: Ori Gofen
URL:
Whiteboard: storage
Depends On: 1097820 1122510 1144856
Blocks: 1103679 rhev3.5beta rhev3.5beta3 1156165
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2014-02-27 14:34 UTC by Evgheni Dereveanchin
Modified: 2018-12-04 17:41 UTC (History)
13 users (show)

Fixed In Version: org.ovirt.engine-root-3.5.0-13
Doc Type: Enhancement
Doc Text:
With this feature, you can now edit the "Wipe after Delete" property of a disk even while the virtual machine is running.
Clone Of:
: 1103679 (view as bug list)
Environment:
Last Closed: 2015-02-11 17:59:00 UTC
oVirt Team: Storage
Target Upstream Version:
scohen: Triaged+


Attachments (Terms of Use)


Links
System ID Priority Status Summary Last Updated
Red Hat Product Errata RHSA-2015:0158 normal SHIPPED_LIVE Important: Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Manager 3.5.0 2015-02-11 22:38:50 UTC
oVirt gerrit 25847 None None None Never
oVirt gerrit 33237 master MERGED webadmin: Enable editing WAD when VM is running Never
oVirt gerrit 33243 ovirt-engine-3.5 MERGED webadmin: Enable editing WAD when VM is running Never

Description Evgheni Dereveanchin 2014-02-27 14:34:02 UTC
Description of problem:
In RHEV 3.3 the "Wipe after Delete" option is not greyed out, however when attempting to modify the setting, an error pops out. The setting should be modifiable on live VMs.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
RHEV-M 3.3.0

How reproducible:
iSCSI storage domains

Steps to Reproduce:
1. start VM
2. press "Edit" on the disk
3. enable "Wipe after Delete" (this option is not grayed out)

Actual results:
Following error is displayed
"Cannot edit Virtual Machine Disk. At least one of the VMs is not down."

Expected results:
New setting is applied successfully

Comment 1 Michal Skrivanek 2014-02-28 10:50:00 UTC
it's not going to be modifiable until BZ 922377 gets in
ATM it should be grayed out

Comment 2 Michal Skrivanek 2014-02-28 10:52:05 UTC
eh, actually, you don't just want to apply it after shutdown, you want it to be immediately effective, right?
Then it just needs to be declared in the code as such

Comment 3 Evgheni Dereveanchin 2014-02-28 12:45:10 UTC
Hi,

First of all, I am unsure if it is possible or not to set "Wipe after Delete" while the VM is up, but it should not affect any runtime operations: the wipe is triggered only on disk/snapshot removal. This is the initial goal of the BZ.

Second, at the moment in RHEV 3.3 this option is not greyed out for some reason, however any changes of the field produce an error.

So for now, the option must be greyed out, but in the future I'd like to see a possibility to add the flag on the fly.

Comment 4 Allon Mureinik 2014-03-05 10:29:44 UTC
(In reply to Michal Skrivanek from comment #1)
> it's not going to be modifiable until BZ 922377 gets in
> ATM it should be grayed out
Setting target release based on this comment.

Comment 6 Allon Mureinik 2014-03-11 12:03:11 UTC
(In reply to Allon Mureinik from comment #4)
> (In reply to Michal Skrivanek from comment #1)
> > it's not going to be modifiable until BZ 922377 gets in
> > ATM it should be grayed out
> Setting target release based on this comment.

Actually, this is a /disk/ property, not a /vm/ property, which is only used when the disk/vm is removed, so I'm not sure why this is true.
Michal - can you elaborate?

Comment 7 Michal Skrivanek 2014-03-11 12:07:45 UTC
it is not, see my next comment 2 correcting this:)

it should be doable, you just need to change the code to allow it, IMO

Comment 8 Allon Mureinik 2014-03-11 13:06:11 UTC
(In reply to Michal Skrivanek from comment #7)
> it is not, see my next comment 2 correcting this:)
> 
> it should be doable, you just need to change the code to allow it, IMO
Hmm... missed that.
Thanks!

Comment 10 Aharon Canan 2014-08-21 12:22:52 UTC
https://tcms.engineering.redhat.com/run/163706

please be aware to depend on bugs

Comment 11 Aharon Canan 2014-09-23 06:35:57 UTC
using vt3.1 , looks like the "wipe after delete" flag is greyed out.
not sure what changed but it was working and passed tests and now it is not.

Comment 12 Allon Mureinik 2014-09-23 08:34:21 UTC
Was broken by Ib8b9f2860fd186651311814d0087c47f4083c863.

Comment 13 Eyal Edri 2014-09-28 11:29:27 UTC
this bug was moved to MODIFIED before vt4 build date thus moving to ON_QA.
if you belive this bug isn't in vt4, please report to rhev-integ@redhat.com

Comment 14 Ori Gofen 2014-10-02 08:18:22 UTC
verified on vt4

Comment 16 errata-xmlrpc 2015-02-11 17:59:00 UTC
Since the problem described in this bug report should be
resolved in a recent advisory, it has been closed with a
resolution of ERRATA.

For information on the advisory, and where to find the updated
files, follow the link below.

If the solution does not work for you, open a new bug report.

https://rhn.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2015-0158.html


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.