Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 1062515 - [RFE] [RHEV-H] Re-confirm storage configuration before proceeding with the partitioning.
Summary: [RFE] [RHEV-H] Re-confirm storage configuration before proceeding with the p...
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED ERRATA
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Manager
Classification: Red Hat
Component: ovirt-node
Version: 3.0.1
Hardware: x86_64
OS: Linux
urgent
urgent
Target Milestone: ---
: 3.5.0
Assignee: Ryan Barry
QA Contact: Virtualization Bugs
URL:
Whiteboard: node
Depends On: rebase-ovirt-node-3.1
Blocks: rhev3.5beta 1156165
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2014-02-07 06:57 UTC by Prasad Mukhedkar
Modified: 2018-12-05 17:12 UTC (History)
12 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Enhancement
Doc Text:
Confirmation is now required for storage layout in the TUI installation of the Hypervisor to help prevent data loss in case of an incorrectly selected disk.
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2015-02-11 20:51:51 UTC
oVirt Team: Node
Target Upstream Version:


Attachments (Terms of Use)


Links
System ID Priority Status Summary Last Updated
Red Hat Product Errata RHEA-2015:0160 normal SHIPPED_LIVE ovirt-node bug fix and enhancement update 2015-02-12 01:34:52 UTC
oVirt gerrit 27074 None None None Never

Description Prasad Mukhedkar 2014-02-07 06:57:11 UTC
Currently there is no provision given to re-confirm which disk has been selected as 'boot disk' and which are as 'install disks' before proceeding with the partitioning and further installation of a hypervisor.

Customers/users may wrongly select disks which are not intended for hypervisor installation but visible to the host (e.g LUNs) and as there is no reconfirm window showing information about selected disks. there is change to loss important data . 

One of our customer wrongly selected a lun which was containing large vms disks (was part of rhev storage domain) during the rhev-h installation. As there was no 'window' showing information about which disks are actually selected for host installation and to re-confirm the selection is correct. Customer simply proceed with the installation and that overwritten the disk/lun and he lost large number of virtual machines.

We should provide a thread/promot/window which clearly indicates which disks have been selected as 'install disk' and 'boot disk' before proceeding with partitioning and further installation.

Comment 8 Eyal Edri 2014-06-23 11:00:25 UTC
after confirmig with fabiand, moving to 3.5.0.
need to decide if this needs cloning to 3.4.z

Comment 9 Fabian Deutsch 2014-07-24 16:02:26 UTC
This is a mass change, moving bugs of merged patches into MODIFIED.

Please correct the state, if you think that the move was not justified.

Comment 11 Ying Cui 2014-10-15 07:22:41 UTC
Verified this bug on build:
Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Hypervisor release 7.0 (20141006.0.el7ev)
ovirt-node-3.1.0-0.20.20141006gitc421e04.el7.noarch

Have already added a page before installation to let user make clearly which disks have been selected as 'install disk' and 'boot disk'.

Comment 12 Ying Cui 2015-01-26 11:47:11 UTC
This bug need more testing.
Tested on rhev-hypervisor7-7.0-20150123.2 and rhev-hypervisor6-6.6-20150123.2

Boot device may be part of a storage domain! will red highlight to customer if lun already used by storage domain.
Tested this on multipath iSCSI machine z600-03

Comment 14 errata-xmlrpc 2015-02-11 20:51:51 UTC
Since the problem described in this bug report should be
resolved in a recent advisory, it has been closed with a
resolution of ERRATA.

For information on the advisory, and where to find the updated
files, follow the link below.

If the solution does not work for you, open a new bug report.

https://rhn.redhat.com/errata/RHEA-2015-0160.html


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.