Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.
Bug 1056949 - [RFE] Allow deleting disks but preserve snapshots
Summary: [RFE] Allow deleting disks but preserve snapshots
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Alias: None
Product: ovirt-engine
Classification: oVirt
Component: RFEs
Version: ---
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
unspecified
medium vote
Target Milestone: ---
: ---
Assignee: bugs@ovirt.org
QA Contact: Raz Tamir
URL:
Whiteboard:
: 1135775 (view as bug list)
Depends On: 1054219
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2014-01-23 08:54 UTC by Allon Mureinik
Modified: 2017-11-26 13:30 UTC (History)
8 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Enhancement
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2017-11-26 13:30:56 UTC
oVirt Team: Storage
ylavi: ovirt-future?
ylavi: planning_ack?
ylavi: devel_ack?
ylavi: testing_ack?


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Allon Mureinik 2014-01-23 08:54:09 UTC
Today, when we delete a disk it's deleted throughout all its snapshots, removing all "history" from, and potentially invalidating the existing snapshots.

Such behavior may be useful in some usecases, but may be problematic in others. Another useful approach (which should be made optional) would be to delete a disk "from now on" - removing the active layer, but preserving all older snapshots.

Comment 1 Itamar Heim 2014-08-03 06:35:18 UTC
Closing old bugs. If this issue is still relevant/important in current version, please re-open the bug.

Comment 2 Allon Mureinik 2014-08-03 06:37:33 UTC
(In reply to Itamar Heim from comment #1)
> Closing old bugs. If this issue is still relevant/important in current
> version, please re-open the bug.
Definitely not for 3.5, but Sean - let's consider for 3.6/4.0.

Comment 3 Sean Cohen 2014-12-22 17:56:40 UTC
I am not sure it will make it into 3.6 priorities, suggest to review again for 4.0
Sean

Comment 4 Arik 2014-12-28 17:43:19 UTC
*** Bug 1135775 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***

Comment 5 Sandro Bonazzola 2015-09-04 08:59:27 UTC
This is an automated message.
This Bugzilla report has been opened on a version which is not maintained anymore.
Please check if this bug is still relevant in oVirt 3.5.4.
If it's not relevant anymore, please close it (you may use EOL or CURRENT RELEASE resolution)
If it's an RFE please update the version to 4.0 if still relevant.

Comment 6 Yaniv Lavi 2017-11-26 13:30:56 UTC
Open since 2014 and no customer request for this change.
Closing until we get a user/customer story for this.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.