Note: This is a beta release of Red Hat Bugzilla 5.0. The data contained within is a snapshot of the live data so any changes you make will not be reflected in the production Bugzilla. Also email is disabled so feel free to test any aspect of the site that you want. File any problems you find or give feedback here.

Bug 951934

Summary: vdsm [UPGRADE]: trying to attach a lun that was upgraded and removed to a different DC with metadata v1 will show the lun as used
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Manager Reporter: Dafna Ron <dron>
Component: vdsmAssignee: Ayal Baron <abaron>
Status: CLOSED INSUFFICIENT_DATA QA Contact: Aharon Canan <acanan>
Severity: medium Docs Contact:
Priority: unspecified    
Version: 3.2.0CC: abaron, acanan, amureini, bazulay, dron, ebenahar, hateya, iheim, jkt, lpeer, scohen
Target Milestone: ---Keywords: Triaged
Target Release: 3.4.0   
Hardware: x86_64   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard: storage
Fixed In Version: Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of: Environment:
Last Closed: 2013-09-09 05:00:13 UTC Type: Bug
Regression: --- Mount Type: ---
Documentation: --- CRM:
Verified Versions: Category: ---
oVirt Team: Storage RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: --- Target Upstream Version:
Bug Depends On:    
Bug Blocks: 1078909, 1142926    
Attachments:
Description Flags
logs none

Description Dafna Ron 2013-04-14 14:47:44 UTC
Created attachment 735599 [details]
logs

Description of problem:

I have two DC's both rhevm 3.0 (metadata v1). 
I upgraded one DC and after I upgraded I moved/removed the disks on one of the domains -> detached and removed it in an orderly way. 
I tried adding this lun to the second 3.0 DC (metadata v1 as well) and the lun is shown as used. 
we seem to be removing the lun but leaving some leftovers so that if we try to attach it again after removing it is shown as used. 

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):

sf13.1
upgrade from vdsm-4.10.2-1.9.el6ev.x86_64 to vdsm-4.10.2-15.0.el6ev.x86_64

How reproducible:

100%

Steps to Reproduce:
1. create two iscsi DC's in 3.0 with format v1 with 2 storage domains on each DC
2. create vm's (images and volumes) on all domains
3. uprgade one of the DC's
4. move/remove the images/volumes from one of the upgraded domains
5. detach and remove the domain
6. try to add the domain as a new domain in the second DC (who is still v1). 

  
Actual results:

domain is shown as used

Expected results:

domain should not be shown as used. 

Additional info: logs

Comment 2 Ayal Baron 2013-07-10 07:20:42 UTC
Dafna, domains are never 'used', LUNs are used.
LUNs are never upgraded, domains are upgraded.

IIUC, the flow is:
create a domain on LUN in setup 1, remove the domain, try to use the LUN on setup 2,  Is this correct?

Is it through the same host that you moved between setups or did you use separate hosts?

Did all hosts see the LUN from the beginning (lun mapping)?

Did you check why it failed? 

Forcing creation, were you able to create the domain?

Comment 4 Elad 2014-02-02 12:33:35 UTC
Doesn't look relevant. Will be re-opened in case we will encounter it again